Home Videos Photos News & media Blogs Contact    
News and Articals

Bad omen for Sylhet AL

Edit Date:7/14/2011 12:00:00 AM

BNP, Jamaat bag most UP chairman posts


The ruling Awami league suffered a setback in the just concluded union parishad elections in Sylhet.

AL got 30 chairman posts, BNP 42 and Jamaat bagged 10 followed by the Jatiya Party's four in the district. In Biswanath and Dakshin Surma upazilas, AL got not a single chairman post while BNP bagged 10 out of 14 posts in the two upazilas (six in Biswanath and four in Dakshin Surma). Jamaat got two posts in Biswanath and one in Dakshin Surma and an independent candidate bagged one in Dakshin Surma. BNP could not manage even one UP chairman seat in Zakiganj upazila.

In Sylhet Sadar upazila, AL got two chairman posts, BNP five and Jamaat one. In Gowainghat upazila, AL 2, BNP 5, in Companiganj upazila, AL 4, BNP 2, in Jaintapur upazila, AL 2, BNP 4, in Kanaighat upazila, AL 2, BNP 3, Jamaat 2 and independent 2. In Zakiganj upazila, AL bagged 7 while Jatiya party and Jamat managed one each.

In Golapganj upazila, AL got four chairman posts while BNP, Jamaat and Jatyia Party got two posts each. One post in the upazila went to an independent candidate. In Beanibazar upazila, AL 3, BNP 4 while Jamaat and independent candidate bagged one each. In Balaganj upazila, AL 4, and BNP 8 while Jamaat and Independent candidate managed one each.

Election to three union parishad in Fenchuganj, two in Dakshin Surma and one each in Biswanath and Beanibazar upazilas has remained suspended due to area demarcation problems. In Habiganj district, Awami League bagged 35 chairman posts, BNP 31, Jatiya Party2 and Jamaat one. At least four people were killed over 200 injured in election-related clashes in Habiganj Sadar, Lakhai and Nabiganj upazilas of the district.



Terms & Conditions © Copy right by Awami Brutality 2010