Home Videos Photos News & media Blogs Contact    
News and Articals

Major shake-up in civil admin 17 secretaries transferred, 4 made OSD

Edit Date:10/19/2010 12:00:00 AM

 Staff Correspondent

In a major shake-up of the civil administration, the government yesterday reshuffled 21 of its secretaries, four of whom were made officers on special duties (OSD).

The four OSDs are Fisheries and Livestock Secretary Sharfuddin Alam, Land Secretary Ataharul Islam, Implementation Monitoring and Evaluation Division (IMED) Secretary Abdul Malek, and Planning Commission Member Nasir Uddin Ahmed.

Liberation War Affairs Secretary Uzzal Bikas Datta was transferred to the fisheries and livestock ministry, Disaster Management and Relief Division Secretary Moklesur Rahman was transferred to land ministry, Planning Division Secretary Habib Ullah Majumder was transferred to IMED, Primary and Mass Education Secretary Abu Alam Md Shahid Khan was transferred to the Local Government Division, Local Government and Rural Development Secretary Monjur Hossain was transferred to the Planning Division, Land Reform Board Chairman AKM Abdul Awal Majumder was transferred to the primary and mass education ministry, Information Secretary Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury was transferred to the education ministry, and Cultural Affairs Secretary Hedayetullah Al Mamun was made the information secretary.

On October 7, the government issued a notification transferring Economic Relations Division (ERD) Secretary Muhammad Mosharraf Hossain Bhuiyan to the education ministry. The notice was cancelled yesterday, keeping him at his current post.

Bangladesh Textile Mills Corporation (BTMC) Chairman Mizanur Rahman was transferred to the liberation war affairs ministry as its acting secretary, Director General of the Land Record and Survey Directorate Dr Aslam Alam was made the acting secretary to the Disaster Management and Relief Division, Additional Secretary to the Primary and Mass Education Sumaiya Begum was sent to the cultural affairs ministry as its acting secretary, while Commissioner of Government Transport Pool Ibadat Ali was made an acting member (equivalent to a secretary) of the Planning Commission.

Additional Secretary to the Establishment Ministry Mohammad Sadik was made the acting secretary to the Election Commission Secretariat, while Rector of Bangladesh Public Administration Training Centre (BPATC) Delwar Hossain was made the chairman of Land Reform Commission.

Director General of Government Employees' Welfare Board Golam Kuddus was made the acting secretary to Rural Development and Cooperative Division.

Member Directing Staff of BPATC Mesbah-ul Alam, with an equivalent post of an additional secretary, was made the acting rector of the training centre, while Rural Development and Cooperative Division Secretary Rokeya Sultana was made a member of the Privatization Commission.

Chairman of National Housing Authority Niaz Uddin Mia, whose position is equivalent to an additional secretary's, was transferred to the appointment, posting and deputation (APD) wing of the establishment ministry pending a posting. Housing and Public Works Ministry's Joint Secretary MA Hannan will replace Niaz at the National Housing Authority.

Joint Secretary Mohammad Iqbal, who had been an OSD, was posted to the housing and public works ministry.

The contractual appointment of Petrobangla Chairman Dr Hossain Monsur was extended by two years.

The establishment ministry issued separate notifications regarding the reshuffle.

Yesterday's was the second major reshuffle in the civil bureaucracy since the Awami League-led government took over the rein of the administration in January 2009. The latest move came within a week of rearranging the entire police department


Terms & Conditions © Copy right by Awami Brutality 2010